Log In

Company : Ceat Ltd 
Thursday, February 3, 2011 10:59PM IST (5:29PM GMT)
CEAT Cricket Rating Awards the best of World Cup Cricketers
Glenn Turner, Gordon Greenidge, Kapil Dev, Geoffrey Marsh, Wasim Akram, Aravinda De Silva, Rahul Dravid, Sourav Ganguly and Matthew Hayden are the winners of CEAT Cricket Rating World Cup Awards, • Team Australia won the award of CEAT International Cricket Team of the year and Shane Watson from Australia was the winner of the CEAT International Cricketer of the Year
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

Tyre major CEAT Limited celebrated the success and glory of International cricket with ‘CEAT Cricket Rating (CCR) World Cup Awards 2011' at a glittering ceremony here today at Hotel Taj Mahal Palace in Mumbai. These special CEAT Cricket Rating Awards honor the best of the World Cup cricketers based on their performances in all the previous World Cups as per the CEAT Cricket Rating.

The world cup awards, like the CEAT rating awards are based on an objective point-system, developed in association with Mr. Sunil Gavaskar that awards points to cricketers for their batting, bowling and fielding performances. CEAT Cricket Ratings has been applied to the performances of all cricketers participating in each of the previous world cups and based on the resulting points tally, the winners have been selected from different generations for their outstanding contributions.

The evening truly belonged to the legends who have been part of the mother of all the cricketing events: the Cricket World Cup, from the year 1975 to 2007.

Harsh Goenka, Chairman, RPG Enterprises said, "The CEAT Cricket Rating World Cup Awards were conceptualized to pay tribute to the legends of World Cup cricket. These legends of the game have carved a name for themselves and we are privileged to have them on one platform amongst us." He added, "These cricketers have brought joy to millions of cricket fans from across the world over the years and it is a small gesture of honoring the spirit with which they have played the game at the biggest cricketing extravaganza."

Following are the winners of CEAT Cricket Rating World Cup Awards:

1975 – Glenn Turner
1979 – Gordon Greenidge
1983 – Kapil Dev
1987 – Geoffrey Marsh
1992 – Wasim Akram
1996 – Aravinda De Silva
1999 – Rahul Dravid
2003 – Sourav Ganguly
2007 – Matthew Hayden

In addition to the World Cup awards, Team Australia won the award of CEAT International Cricket Team of the year and Shane Watson from Australia was the winner of the CEAT International Cricketer of the Year.

Speaking on the occasion, cricket legend Sunil Gavaskar said, "The World Cup is probably one of the most important events in a cricketer's career and to be able to perform consistently well in a World Cup is a dream for every cricketer. The winners of all the individual awards have done just that, fulfilling their individual dreams and those who have helped their team in winning the World Cup have double the reason to be proud of themselves. It is wonderful to see CEAT coming up with awards to recognize these special efforts of the individuals."
The CEAT Cricket Rating was the first rating system in international cricket to recognize and reward outstanding performers in cricket on an annual basis. Conceived in 1995 by CEAT, the CEAT CRICKET RATINGS attempted to answer every cricket-lover's persistent and perennial query – "Who is the best of the best?"

The CEAT Cricket Rating stands out by virtue of its simplicity. It comprises an objective points system that awards points to cricketers for their batting, bowling and fielding performances. There is a separate CEAT Team Rating (initiated in 1996-97) that assigns points to teams on the basis of their performances in Tests and one-day internationals.

The CEAT Cricket Year commences on 1st May and ends on 30th April of the following calendar year. The cricketer and team that accumulate the highest number of points in their respective categories at the end of this twelve-month period are declared the CEAT Cricket Rating International Cricketer and Team of the Year respectively.

The adjudicators: The CEAT CRICKET RATINGS are overseen by cricketing legend Sunil Gavaskar, who is the adjudicator for the ratings.

(To view the pitcure, please copy paste the URL in the browser window: http://cms.businesswireindia.com/Uploads/news-multimedia/images/1(42).jpg)

For News Release background on Ceat Ltd click here
Media Contact Details
Sweta Goyal, Sampark Public Relations – Mumbai, +91 93207 78832, sweta.goyal@sampark.com
Vikas Sahni, Sampark Public Relations – Mumbai, +91 98926 29404, vikas.sahni@sampark.com
Archana Pradhan, Sampark Public Relations – Mumbai, +91 98203 30505, archana.pradhan@sampark.com
Submit your press release
More News from Ceat Ltd

11/06/2010 1:23PM

CEAT Announces the Zonal Winners of the ‘CEAT India Road Transportation Awards 2010 (CIRTA)'

RPG Group's flagship company and leading Indian tyre major, CEAT Ltd, announced the zonal winners of ‘India Road Transportation Awards 2010'.Listed below are the winners who have won the awards in the following ...

29/11/2009 9:20PM

CEAT Cricket Rating (CCR) Felicitates the Stalwarts of International Cricket

-- CEAT International Team of the Year award - Australia -- CEAT International Cricketer of the Year - Gautam Gambhir (India) -- CEAT International Test Batsman of the year - Gautam Gambhir (India) -- CEAT ...

01/06/2009 1:19PM

CEAT Receives Reader's Digest Trusted Brand Awards'09

Indian tyre major, CEAT is the winner of the Reader's Digest Trusted Brands Gold Award™ 2009 for Tyres category in India. The Reader's Digest Trusted Brand Survey was launched in 1999 and has been carried out annually ...

Similar News

19/02/2018 10:55PM

Customers of Palau Telecoms to Enjoy 'Always On' Connectivity with SES Networks

Customers of Palau’s local internet services provider Palau Telecoms will continue to enjoy enhanced and reliable fibre-like connectivity delivered by SES Networks.   This press release features multimedia. ...

No Image

19/02/2018 6:00PM

Coca-Cola and Jason Derulo Team-up on Global Anthem as the World Gets #Ready for the 2018 FIFA World Cup™

Coca-Cola and global superstar, Jason Derulo, set to release anthem “Colors” in celebration of the world’s biggest football tournament.