Log In

Company : Teachers 
Friday, November 3, 2006 1:50PM IST (8:20AM GMT)
Nominees for Teacher's Achievement Awards 2006 Business Category Announced
Harsh Mariwala, Priti Paul, Malvinder Singh, Capt Gopinath and Ekta Kapoor contend for the award
New Delhi, Delhi, India

Beam Global Spirits & Wine, the 4th largest spirits company in the world, today announced the much awaited nominations for the business category of the 6th annual Teacher's Achievement Awards. The awards seek to honour individuals renowned for their achievements in the fields of Business, Entertainment, Sports and Communication. The past winners of the coveted award in the business category are HSBC India Country Head Naina Lal Kidwai, in 2003, Shopper's Stop Managing Director and CEO B S Nagesh, in 2004, and former ONGC Chairman and Managing Director, Subir Raha, in 2005.

The distinguished nominees in the business category include some of the most respected leaders in the corporate world today. The five nominees have not only showcased leadership and excellence in their respective fields but have redefined achievement in their own ways.

The nominees contending for the coveted award this year are: Air Deccan Managing Director Captain Gopinath, the man behind the "anyone-can-fly" revolution in India; Balaji Telefilms Creative Director Ekta Kapoor, the prodigal producer who has rewritten the script of Indian television entertainment; Ranbaxy Laboratories Ltd CEO and Managing Director Malvinder Singh, the man responsible for turning an Indian pharmaceutical company into a global conglomerate; Apeejay Surrendra Group Director Priti Paul, the driving force behind Oxford Bookstores, India's most dynamic chain of bookstores, and Marico Industries Ltd Managing Director Harsh Mariwala, who transformed a traditional commodity driven company into one of India's leading branded FMCG conglomerates.

Announcing the business nominees for the Teacher's Achievement Awards 2006, Mr. Harish Moolchandani, Managing Director, Beam Global Spirits & Wine India Business said: "The five nominees in the business category personify achievement in their respective business segments. They have consistently demonstrated value-based leadership, innovation and strategic acumen in their disciplines. We feel honoured to be associated with such notable achievers and would be proud to be in their company at the awards night in New Delhi soon."

The eligibility criteria for Teacher's Achievement Awards nominations are stringent and follow a strict, bias-free process. An esteemed advisory panel comprising of Castrol India's Chairman S M Datta and Apollo Group's Chairman and Managing Director O S Kanwar, helped in shortlisting the nominees for the business category. The Jury process is then validated by KPMG.

A panel of prominent jury members, who have been achievers in their respective fields, is appointed every year to select a winner from that genre. The panel of judges for the business category for Teacher's Achievement Awards 2006 consists of ONGC Former Chairman and Managing Director Subir Raha, Manas Advisory Founder and Chief Executive Ravi Bhoothalingam, and Ernst & Young (India) Former Chairman Kashi N. Memani.

The award ceremony is scheduled to be held on November 25, 2006 at The Grand, New Delhi.

About Teacher's Achievement Awards:

Since its inception in 2001, Teacher's Achievement Awards has recognised achievers in diverse categories such as photography, science, theatre and the creative and performing arts. The first ever Teacher's Achievement Award, held in 2001, was awarded to Mr Anjan Chatterjee who is an acclaimed Restaurateur & Advertising professional as well as to Mr Gaurav Bhardwaj, a renowned photographer. Feroz Khan, the internationally acclaimed theatre director, producer and actor – was the recipient of Teacher's Achievement Award 2002. He is the man who put Indian theatre on the world map with his highly successful plays like Mahatma v/s Gandhi and Tumhari Amrita. He bagged the Teacher's Achievement Award for Theatre. Nagesh Kukunoor, the young chemical engineer turned film director who redefined Indian cinema with small budget blockbusters like Rockford, Hyderabad Blues, Bollywood Calling and more recently the critically acclaimed Iqbal and Dor, was the winner of the Teacher's Achievement Award for the Creative and Performing Arts in 2002.

The winners of the third edition of the Teacher's Achievement Awards held in 2003 were Naina Lal Kidwai (Business), Shiamak Davar (Entertainment), Mahesh Bhupathi (Sports), Vikram Chandra (Communication) and Yash Chopra (Outstanding Achievement Award).

The winners of the Teacher's Achievement Awards held in 2004 were B.S. Nagesh (Business), Shankar Ehsaan Loy (Entertainment), Rahul Dravid and Lt Col Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore (Sports), Karan Thapar (Communication) and Ustad Amjad Ali Khan (Lifetime Achievement Award).

The winners of Teacher's Achievement Awards held last year in Mumbai were Subir Raha (Business), Sonu Nigam (Entertainment), Anjali Bhagwat (Sports), Ram Madhvani (Communication) and Y.C.Deveshwar (Lifetime Achievement Award).

For News Release background on Teachers click here
Submit your press release
Similar News

22/02/2018 5:53PM Image

Limca Book of Records (LBR) Celebrates 28 years of Showcasing "India at its Best"

Hachette India today announced the launch of the new aesthetically enhanced 28th edition of the Limca Book of Records (LBR) at Higginbothams in Chennai, the oldest bookshop in India.

No Image

22/02/2018 5:15PM

Mavenir Unveils Its Industry First Mobile-Native UCaas Solution, Entering into a New UCC Market Category

Mavenir, a leader in mobile network transformation, announced its industry first Mobile-Native Unified Communications and Collaboration as a Service (mUCaaS) solution, uniquely designed to address the specific mobility ...